Barocksolisten München :: Programms


Kaiserschmarrn – Delicacies from the House of Habsburg

The period that saw the transfer of power from Leopold I to Joseph I was formative not only in respect of the political history of Austria, but in particular with regard to the history of music. Leopold I, who favoured the Italian style, was succeeded by Joseph I, a lover of French culture. The tension between the two forms the backdrop to the work of great composers such as J.J. Fux, J.H. Schmelzer, H.I.F. Biber, etc.
Vienna was also a city of culture attracting many international artists in the second half of the 18th century and especially in the period of Joseph II. The structure of society with its large aristocracy and the many extremely beautiful palaces proved to be fertile ground for chamber music and a virtual playground for the musicians of the Habsburg Court Orchestra and freelance artists like Mozart.
J.J.Fux’s treatise Gradus ad Parnassum of 1725 was the basic text used in the training of later generations of composers in counterpoint and harmony – the beginning, as it were, of the successful story of Austrian classical music.

« back

Barocksolisten München :: Programme


Kaiserschmarrn - Köstlichkeiten aus dem Hause Habsburg

Nicht nur in der politischen Geschichte Österreichs, sondern vor allem auch in der Musikgeschichte waren die Jahre des Machtwechsels von Leopold I zu Joseph I eine prägende Zeit. Leopold I, dem italienischen Stil zugeneigt, wird von Joseph I, einem Liebhaber des französischen, abgelöst. In diesem Spannungsfeld sind Werke großartiger österreichischer Barockkomponisten, wie J.J. Fux, J.H. Schmelzer, H.I.F. Biber u.a. entstanden.
Auch in der zweiten Hälfte des 18. Jahrhunderts und besonders in der Zeit Joseph II war Wien eine Kulturstadt mit vielen internationalen Künstlern. Die Gesellschaftsstruktur mit einem sehr hohen Aristokratenanteil und die Vielzahl an wunderschönen Palais war ein idealer Nährboden für Kammermusik und eine Spielwiese für die Musiker der habsburgischen Hofkapelle und der freien Künstler wie Mozart.
J. J. Fux` Traktat Gradus ad Parnassum von 1725 war Grundlage in Kontrapunkt und Harmonielehre in der Ausbildung späterer Komponistengenerationen, sozusagen Beginn der Erfolgsgeschichte österreichischer Musik.

« zurück zur Übersicht